FREE Wyvil Primary iPhone & Android App

Our Governors

Annual Governance Statement for the Governing Body of Wyvern Federation

 Aurora House

September 2017

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the 3 core strategic functions of the Wyvern Governing Body are:

1.     Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2.     Holding the Senior Leadership Team to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

3.    Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governance arrangements

The Governing Body of the Wyvern Federation was re-constituted in 2016 and is now made up of 2 staff governors (including the Executive Headteacher), 2 elected Parent Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor, 2 Partnership and 8 Co-opted governors. Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are people who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school: on our Governing Body three of the Co-opted governors are parents, one is a staff member and the remaining four are members of the local community.

The full Governing Body meets once each term, and we also have a number of committees to consider different aspects of the school in detail. In the Wyvern Federation we have a Resources Committee, which focuses on finance, premises and some personnel matters for all of the schools; and separate committees for each school within the Federation (Ashmole Committee, Aurora House Committee, Vauxhall Committee and Wyvil Committee).  See below for a full list of governors.

There are three associate governors who are parents of pupils currently attending the schools who sit on the school specific committees.

Attendance record of governors

Governors have excellent attendance at meetings and we have never cancelled a meeting because it was not “quorate” (the number of governors needed to ensure that legal decisions can be made).

The work that we have done on our committees and in the governing body

The Aurora House committee of the Wyvern Federation meets termly and, in addition, has;

·        Produced terms of reference for the committee

·        Had briefings from the Senior leadership team on

o   Outcomes for pupils

o   The systems used to set goals and monitor progress of children with Autism spectrum disorder

o   The School Development Plan

o   Attendance

o   Behaviour and safety

o   Special Educational Needs

o   External validation/recognition

o   Human Resources, including the staff structure to accommodate the large increase in pupil numbers

o   Monitoring and Standards timetable

o   Premises

·        Conducted governor visits covering

o   Pupils’ attainment and progression

o   The implications of the move to the new site in Kennington Park

·        Attended Parent events

·        Conducted a Skills Audit and had training in

o   Safeguarding

o   Head Teacher Performance Management

o   Prevention of Terrorism

o   FGM

·        Member of panels for new contracts in catering and cleaning


Future plans for the governors

·        Update understanding of the measures to track Pupils’ progression

·        Conduct a Safeguarding review once the annual Lambeth Safeguarding Audit is completed

·        Conduct a governor visit on Health & Safety once the building snagging work is complete.


How you can contact the governing body

We always welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas from parents – please contact the Chair of Governors, Mr Philip Higgins, via the school office. You can see the full list of governors; and more information about what we do, on the Governors’ page of the school website.


Governor Committee Membership Category Term of office expiry date
Amina Abulkadir Vauxhall Committee Parent Governor 04/12/2020
Tony Andrews (Chair of Resource Committee & Wyvil Committee) 

Wyvil Committee

Resources Committee
Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Louise Banér (Chair of Ashmole Committee) Ashmole Committee Parent Governor 04/12/2020
Alex Debreuil (Chair of Aurora House Committee) Aurora House Committee LA Governor 04/12/2020
Anil Fernandez (Vice Chair & Chair of Vauxhall Committee)

Vauxhall Committee

Resources Committee
Partnership Governor 04/12/2020
Karen Foster Wyvil Committee Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Josh Hardie Ashmole Committee Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Philip Higgins (Chair) All committees Partnership Governor 04/12/2020
Juliet Hobday

Ashmole Committee

Resources Committee
Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Natalie Graham Vauxhall Committee Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Valerie Pryce

Wyvil Committee

Resources Committee
Staff Governor 04/12/2020
Nash Rajan

Wyvil Committee

Aurora House Committee
Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Christopher Toye All committees Staff Governor 04/12/2020
Katherine Vik (Training Link) Ashmole Committee Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Tracey Walters Aurora House Committee Co-Opted Governor 04/12/2020
Associate Governors Committee Membership
Stephen Grey Ashmole Committee
Abian Keyre Vauxhall Committee
Alexis des Monstiers Merinville Wyvil Committee

Part of the Wyvern Federation